Indiana, bowling and good times

So, we’re here in Indianapolis. Spencer had his first practice session yesterday and although he hasn’t thrown a bowling ball in a couple of months (I didn’t think it was possible for him to go that long without bowling, and it wasn’t intentional, but I don’t think he’s touched a bowling ball since May), he’s looking in good form. We arrived in Indy on Friday and we’ve been laughing nonstop and having the best time!

The really cool thing is that yesterday my brother and his girlfriend drove over from Illinois to visit and we had a great dinner at a peanuts-on-the-floor, steaks-and-burgers-on-the-menu restaurant last night. I’m not sure how long they can stay today, but I assume they’ll come to watch Spencer’s next practice session at 8am and then have breakfast before they head back.

I can’t remember when I last saw my brother, but it has to have been a couple of years – at least. The first thing he said when he saw me was “Holy shit. You look just like Mom.” Yep, I do. He just looks like himself. He looks like my big brother, David. And it’s been fantastic to see him and we’ve laughed a ton. His girlfriend is great too. What a bonus to get to see him and meet his girlfriend while we are on this bowling extravaganza.

So far, Indianapolis is a really nice little city. We went downtown for sushi the first night and it was such a clean, pretty city with lots of people out and about and a million restaurants and night spots. Very nice.

The weird thing about Indy is that everywhere you go, you get on several different highways to get there. One of them circles the city (Route 465) and you go from 465 South to 465 West and the next thing you know you’re on 465 North (I think). And if it weren’t for my GPS, I’d probably never get off of that circle.

Anyway, that’s my early update on our trip to Indianapolis. More to come . . .

6 thoughts on “Indiana, bowling and good times

  1. Pingback: Body Workout 101

  2. So cool, love the peanuts on the floor thing, brings back memories of the old Ground Round, that may have been purely a NE thing, dunno, sounds like a perfect trip, can’t wait to catch up more fully with you!

    Safe Home,
    ~Linda

  3. Hi Susan:

    Just catching up on all your blogs and am loving them. 465 sounds like the 695 Beltway in Maryland which took me FOREVER to get used to. One continous look that went from West to North to East to South. It was crazy.

    Hope to see you soon!

    Rebecca

    • Thanks! I’m really enjoying writing them. Next time you’re on the Cape, I’d love for you to stop by. I’ll email you with my phone numbers and maybe we can hook up soon!

Leave a comment