My big surprise

Just in case I haven’t sung my husband’s praises adequately or vociferously enough lately, he recently gave me a huge reason to do so.  Never let it be said that I don’t jump at every opportunity to praise good behavior!

We closed on our house a year ago (I won’t even begin to address where the hell a year went) and we always said that as soon as Marty has some time with no work scheduled, he will remove wallpaper and paint a room at a time in our new house.  Fast forward one year and there has been no down time.  That’s one of those good news/bad news things [great news/somewhat disappointing news is more accurate].

So a few weeks ago, in one of our relaxing sojourns in the hot tub, I said something like “I know you have work lined up pretty much non-stop and I am so grateful for that and I certainly am not advocating that you stop work – but one of these days you’re going to have to throw an old dog a bone and paint a room for me.”

Off I go to Indy for the Great Bowling Extravaganza [as I’ve come to think of it] for nine days, leaving my devoted and loving husband to his own devices.  Last Saturday, when we returned from the airport, he unlocked the front door and stood back to allow me to enter the premises [home sweet home].  When you walk in our front door, you have a direct view straight down the hall and into the kitchen.

He painted my kitchen and dining room while I was away! I’m not certain, but I am fairly sure that the skies parted and doves flew and angels played little harps and violins . . . it nearly knocked me off my considerably stable and sturdy legs!

The pictures don’t even begin to do it justice either.  In order to accomplish this little feat, he had to remove wallpaper, repair walls, prime walls, cut in and roll the walls no less than four times – not to mention painting all the trim and caulking and all the other things that go into the project.  AND, he never said a word to me about it.  AND, he still went and did his other jobs during the day.  AND, he only golfed once [that can’t be right].  AND, his work is re-freaking-markable.  AND, the colors are exactly what I wanted.  AND, I didn’t have to be present and go through the pain.

Who’s the best husband in all the world?  Is Marty the best husband in all the world?  Yes he is.

2 thoughts on “My big surprise

  1. how lovely the kitchen and dining area look! sorry we weren’t able to make the rescheduled housewarming last summer, and that the easter dinner didn’t work out, and that our couples dinner never happened, and that our saturday tea hasn’t happened (with a quick peek at the house afterwards). george and i haven’t had a day off since july 4th and don’t expect another one for a few weeks, but hopefully after that i will be able to wake myself up (before it is bedtime again!) one saturday or sunday and be invited to see your “new” house again!

Leave a comment