An anniversary

Today is the sixth anniversary of Marty’s triple bypass surgery.  It’s one of those anniversaries that seems like it was yesterday or thirty years ago.  It was a scary, challenging time to be sure, but here we are six years later and he’s doing well and we’re doing well and life goes on.

Like then, I am again reminded how thankful I am that there are wonderful human beings out there who heed their calling to become nurses and doctors.  It’s a remarkable thing really, that there are people whose primary focus is to heal, help and improve the health and well-being of others.  I applaud them and am forever grateful for the wonderful care my husband (and my dad and Marty’s mom – and any others who have found themselves in need of lifesaving care) received in his time of need.  Not enough good is said about doctors and nurses.  It’s far more common to hear complaints about the health care industry and that’s unfair and unfortunate, because my personal experience has almost always been exemplary.

This anniversary also means that it was nearly six years ago that the Cape was buried under almost forty inches of snow with hurricane force winds – but the rest of the world never heard about it, because the weather forecasters and weather reporters in New England don’t pay any attention to what happens on the Cape.  We are weather lepers.  That was one of those storms that my son and I are proud to say that we survived – sort of like survivors of the Blizzard of ’98 (which I also survived – but I was of the Illinois Blizzard ilk at that time).  Yet, last week, when other parts of Massachusetts got 24″-30″ of snow and we got rain – the Superintendent of Schools canceled school the night before the “blizzard” (which turned out to be little more than rain)!

Anyway, happy anniversary to Marty’s heart bypass arteries!

One thought on “An anniversary

Leave a comment